How we rank|Advertiser disclosure
Home › Reviews › Pain Relief › Red light mats
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. How we make money
The 5 Best Red Light Therapy Mats for Pain Relief & Recovery (2026)
We compared 7 full-body mats using each brand's official specs and policies, and scored what matters for a sore back.

EMBRA Red Light Therapy Mat Kit
Neck to calves, on your own bed. The lowest-priced mat here you can send back after real use, with a prepaid label and no fee.
$699 $1,199 Save $500
Plus a free relief belt ($199) · Bag Premium $1,299 with free belt & neck wrap
- 60 nights to try it, used is fine
- Prepaid return label, no restocking fee
- 2-year warranty, new part ships first
- Free US shipping
Price on embrabody.com, checked September 29, 2026.
Our picks at a glance
1Best OverallEMBRA Mat Kit9.5/10$699See price
2Best Large MatHigherDOSE Full Body Mat7.1/10$1,199Review ↓
3Most LEDsMegelin Light Therapy Mat6.9/10$739Review ↓
4Best Warranty + HSA/FSAElaris Red & Infrared Mat6.8/10$769Review ↓
5Best BudgetNuvio Red Light Therapy Mat6.8/10$499.99Review ↓
All 5 mats, side by side
| Official specs & policies | #1 Our pickEMBRA |
#2HigherDOSE |
#3Megelin |
#4Elaris |
#5Nuvio |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HWJ Score & grade | 9.5/10A+ | 7.1/10B | 6.9/10B− | 6.8/10B− | 6.8/10B− |
| Price | $699 (reg. $1,199) | $1,199 | $739 (reg. $1,299) | $769 (reg. $1,279) | $499.99 (reg. $999.99) |
| Extra pads in the box | Relief belt free ($199); neck wrap too with Bag Premium | Not stated | Mat only listed | No | No |
| Size | 71″ × 31.5″ | 78.7″ × 41.37″ | 71″ × 32″† | 180 × 80 cm (≈ 71″ × 31.5″) | 71″ × 32″† |
| LEDs | 1,410 | 1,000 | 3,840 | 1,290 | 3,840 |
| Warmth (brand's words) | "Warm, never hot" | "Without the heat" | More heat at higher levels | "Gentle, soothing warmth" | More heat at higher levels |
| Controls | Start button, 20-min auto-off | Remote, 4 timer steps | 5 levels, 3 modes | 5 levels, 2 modes, timer | 5 levels, modes, timer |
| Return window | 60 nights from delivery | 120 days from delivery* | 60 days from purchase | 60 days from purchase | 30 days from delivery |
| Return it used? | Yes, no fee | Yes, "like-new condition"* | Yes, 20% restocking fee | Same condition, original box | No, unused only |
| Return shipping | Prepaid label | Prepaid label* | You pay | You pay | You pay |
| Warranty | 2 years, new part ships first | 1 year, limited | 1 year, replacement | 2 years, replacement | 1 year, replacement |
| Shipping | Free, 7–10 business days | Free, 2 days + 3–5 ground | Free over $98, 5–10 days + 2–3 to process | Free, 4–12 business days | Free, 2–5 business days |
| HSA/FSA | Not listed | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Official page | embrabody.com | higherdose.com | megelin.com | elarisbody.com | nuviorecovery.com |
Swipe the table sideways to see all five. All five use 660 nm red + 850 nm near-infrared light. Source: brand websites, checked Sep 28–29, 2026. *HigherDOSE has two return pages that disagree. †Text on the page also says 71″ × 31″.
The 5 mats, reviewed
EMBRA Red Light Therapy Mat Kit
The lowest-risk way to try a full-body mat, with the most in the box.
What's in the Mat Kit. Image: EMBRA
Grade A+How we score · weighted average of five categories
- 71″ × 31.5″Neck to calves
- 1,410 LEDsBelt adds 120
- "Warm, never hot"Auto-off after 20 min
- 60 nightsFrom delivery, used is fine
- 2-year warrantyNew part ships first
- Free shipping7–10 business days
What we liked
- 60 nights, used is fine, prepaid label, no fee.
- 2-year warranty where the new part ships first.
- Simplest to use: press start, auto-off at 20 minutes.
- Free relief belt reaches knees and low back; Bag Premium adds a free neck wrap.
What we didn't like
- Ships slower: 7–10 business days.
- 1,410 LEDs. Megelin and Nuvio each list 3,840.
- No HSA/FSA on the EMBRA site (checked Sep 29, 2026).
- If you return the mat, the free gifts go back too.
Why #1: you pay $500 to $1,200 before you know if a mat helps your back. EMBRA gives you 60 nights to find out, then a prepaid label and a refund if it doesn't. Only HigherDOSE also does this, for $500 more.
Read our full EMBRA review: specs, pros & cons →
HigherDOSE Full Body Red Light Mat
The biggest mat, at a much higher price.

Grade BHow we score
- 78.7″ × 41.37″Largest in our list
- 1,000 LEDsFAQ also names 630/830 nm
- 120 days*Used, "like-new," prepaid label
What we liked
- Largest mat here, almost 79″ long and over 41″ wide.
- 120 days, even after use, prepaid label.*
- Ships fast; takes HSA/FSA.
What we didn't like
- $500 more than our #1, no extras listed.
- *Its refund page says 14 days, unopened. Ask first.
- Brand says it works "without the heat."
- 1-year warranty, brand picks repair or replace.
Megelin Red and Near-Infrared Light Therapy Mat
Lots of LEDs and settings, but a used return costs you.

Grade B−How we score
- 3,840 LEDsOne line says 7,560 (another product)
- 60 daysFrom purchase, 20% fee if used
- 1-year warrantyFree replacement
What we liked
- 3,840 LEDs, tied with Nuvio for the most listed.
- Takes a used mat back within 60 days.
- Takes HSA/FSA.
What we didn't like
- Used return fee is 20%, about $148, plus your own shipping.
- 1-year warranty.
- Its pages list different sizes and LED counts.
Elaris Red & Infrared Light Therapy Mat
A 2-year warranty and HSA/FSA, with stricter return rules.

Grade B−How we score · 6.84 before rounding, ahead of Nuvio (6.80)
- "Gentle, soothing warmth"Timer 10–90 min
- 60 daysFrom purchase, same condition
- 2-year warrantyReplacement
What we liked
- 2-year warranty with a replacement.
- Described as warm; takes HSA/FSA.
- Can arrive sooner than EMBRA (4–12 days).
What we didn't like
- $70 more than our #1, no extras.
- Returns need the same condition and original box.
- 60 days count from purchase; you pay return shipping.
Nuvio Red Light Therapy Mat
The cheapest mat here, if you're sure you'll keep it.

Grade B−How we score
- 3,840 LEDsIts own parts add to 3,800
- 30 daysUnused only, you pay shipping
- 2–5 daysFree, lower 48 states
What we liked
- Lowest price in our list.
- Lists 3,840 LEDs.
- Fastest listed shipping: 2–5 business days.
What we didn't like
- Unused returns only, so you can't try it on your back first.
- 1-year warranty.
- HSA/FSA not mentioned.
How we score
Each mat gets 0–10 points in five categories, using only facts from the brands' own pages. We did not test the mats by hand, so light strength and build quality are not scored.
| Category | Weight | How points are given |
|---|---|---|
| Returns & warranty | 30% | Return after use: 3 (no fee), 1.5 (with fee), 0. Window: 2 (60+ days from delivery), 1.5 (60 days from purchase), 0.5 (30 days). Prepaid label: 1.5. Warranty: 2 (2 years), 1 (1 year). New part first 1.5, replacement 1, brand chooses 0.5. −1 if its return pages disagree. |
| Coverage & size | 20% | 5 + up to 3 for mat area + up to 2 for LED count (largest = full points), +0.5 if pads for neck, back or knee are included. If a brand's numbers disagree, we use the lower one. |
| Value | 20% | 10 × lowest price ÷ this price, +1 per extra pad in the box, +0.5 for HSA/FSA. Max 10. |
| Comfort & heat | 15% | 6 + 2 if the brand says it feels warm (1 if heat only at higher levels) + 1 if it calls the warmth gentle or "never hot" + 1 for a timer or auto-off. |
| Ease of use | 15% | 10, minus 1 each for intensity levels, light or pulse modes, and a timer you must set (or no auto-off stated). |
HWJ Score = 0.30 × Returns + 0.20 × Coverage + 0.20 × Value + 0.15 × Comfort + 0.15 × Ease.
EMBRA: 0.30×10 + 0.20×8.3 + 0.20×9.2 + 0.15×10 + 0.15×10 = 9.5. Returns weigh most: red light takes weeks, so you need to be able to send a used mat back.
Grades: A+ 9.0–10 · A 8.5–8.9 · A− 8.0–8.4 · B+ 7.5–7.9 · B 7.0–7.4 · B− 6.5–6.9 · C 6.0–6.4.
Others we looked at

Hooga Red Light PEMF Mat ($1,199). PEMF plus heat (86–140°F), only 150 LEDs, 3-year warranty. A different kind of device; size not listed. hoogahealth.com

BON CHARGE Red Light Therapy Blanket ($1,999). 2,520 LEDs, almost three times our #1's price, 30-day returns in new condition. boncharge.com
How to choose a mat for back pain
- Start with where it hurts. Every full-length mat reaches the lower back. For neck or knees, a belt or wrap helps.
- Measure your bed. Most mats (about 71 × 31 in) fit a twin or larger.
- Read the return rules twice. Used returns? Who pays shipping? Any fee?
- Ask your doctor first if you're pregnant, have light-triggered epilepsy or an implant, or take light-sensitizing medicine.

Our #1 pick · current offer
EMBRA Mat Kit: $699 with a free relief belt
- Full-body mat, controller, goggles$699
$1,199 - Relief belt (lower back or knee)Free ($199)
- Neck & shoulder wrapFree with Bag Premium ($1,299)
- US shippingFree
How the 60-night return works:
- Within 60 nights, email or call EMBRA.
- Get a prepaid label; pack the kit and gifts in any box.
- Refund within 5 business days of arrival, no fee.
Checked on embrabody.com October 8, 2026. Prices can change.
Questions
Does red light help back pain?
Three reviews of many studies found less pain on average: low back pain (15 trials, 1,039 people), neck pain (16 trials, 820 people) and knee arthritis (22 trials). They studied red and near-infrared light in general, mostly clinic devices, over several weeks. No mat can promise a result.
Do these mats get hot?
We didn't measure heat. The brands' words are in the table: EMBRA "warm, never hot," Elaris "gentle, soothing warmth," HigherDOSE "without the heat."
Why is EMBRA ahead of mats that cost more?
Returns and extras: 60 nights of real use with a prepaid label, a 2-year warranty and a free relief belt (plus a free neck wrap with Bag Premium). If size or speed matters most, HigherDOSE may suit you better.
About this article
We compared the mats using each brand's official specs and policies, not by hand. Brand names belong to their owners; no brand reviewed this article. About us and how we make money.
Updates
- Sep 29, 2026: Added scores; Megelin and Elaris swapped (#3/#4) to follow them. Prices and returns re-checked, unchanged.
Brand pages we used (checked Sep 28–29, 2026)
Each brand's product, return, warranty and shipping pages, linked in the table. Return pages: HigherDOSE return and refund · Megelin · Elaris · Nuvio · Hooga · BON CHARGE
Studies (red and near-infrared light in general, not any mat)
Low back: Glazov et al., Acupuncture in Medicine 2016 (doi) · Neck: Chow et al., The Lancet 2009 (doi) · Knee: Stausholm et al., BMJ Open 2019 (doi)
General information, not medical advice. Red light devices are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Product images: each brand's website, backgrounds edited. Author photo: illustration.


